Is Maple Syrup Gluten-Free?


Renowned for its rich flavour, maple syrup is an incredibly popular sweetener that’s often paired with pancakes, waffles and a variety of other dishes.

If you have coeliac disease, you may be wondering whether you can safely consume maple syrup. So, is maple syrup gluten-free? Let’s dive right in!

Is there gluten in maple syrup?

Pure maple syrup does not contain any form of gluten, so is completely safe for people with coeliac disease. The sweetener is made using just one, naturally gluten-free ingredient: maple tree sap.

You still need to be discerning when buying maple syrup as some products are made with additional flavourings that may contain gluten. 

Maple-flavoured blends are typically mixed with glucose syrup, which may occasionally contain traces of gluten, so it’s always best to check the label. 

Maple syrup clearly marked as “pure” or “organic”, on the other hand, will be comprised entirely of boiled maple sap. This is why pure maple syrup is also suitable for vegans.

Learn more about the vegan credentials of maple syrup below.

An entirely natural product

Made by boiling maple tree sap, pure maple syrup is an excellent natural alternative to refined sweeteners like table sugar and golden syrup. 

The production process begins in spring, when changes in temperature force the sugary sap stored in the tree’s roots out to the trunk and branches. 

Small tubes are used to collect the sap, which is transported to a sugar shack and boiled to reduce its water content, eventually forming maple syrup. 

No additional flavourings or preservatives are used in the production process, reducing the risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing products. 

Learn more about the maple production process below.

So, is maple syrup gluten-free?

Provided that no additional flavourings have been used, maple syrup is always gluten-free. This is because the product undergoes minimal processing and is derived solely from maple tree sap, which is naturally gluten-free. 

If you have coeliac disease, however, it’s still best to check the label and exercise caution with maple-flavoured blends, which may contain traces of gluten. 

Has all this talk of maple syrup made you hungry? Discover new ways to incorporate the sweetener into your cooking and baking with our range of maple syrup recipes.

More about maple

The colour and flavour of maple syrup changes in subtle ways during the seasonal harvest

At the start of the sugaring season, the syrup is generally clear, with a light, sweet taste. It becomes darker with a caramelised flavour as the season progresses throughout the spring.

An unopened can of maple syrup keeps for many years

Once the can is opened, syrup should be kept in an airtight container in a cool place.

Maple spread doesn't contain any butter or dairy products

Like all 100% pure maple products, maple spread comes from the sap of the maple tree that’s all.

Always In Season Podcast