Four Grades of Maple

A Syrup for Every Taste

The classification of maple syrup is based on its colour – which changes subtly throughout the spring harvest – and its flavour profile. This helps consumers choose the best syrup for their cooking plans, safe in the knowledge the product is 100% pure and of consistently high quality.

There are four types of maple syrup:

Golden, Delicate Taste

Amber, Rich Taste

Dark, Robust Taste

Very Dark, Strong Taste


All pure Canadian maple syrup sold in the UK is Grade A and each individual bottle must be:

  • Free of fermentation
  • Uniform in colour
  • Free of sediment, cloudiness, objectionable odour or taste
  • Characteristic of the maple flavour of its colour class
  • Produced from 100% concentrated maple sap.

Discover more Maple products

Maple Water

Maple water is delicious just as it is, but it also blends beautifully with fruit. No surprise, then, that more and more maple water-based drinks with fruit flavours like cranberry, blueberry and lemon are hitting the market.

Maple Flakes

Maple flakes are created by freeze-drying (dehydrating) maple syrup. Use maple flakes to liven up speciality cocktails, desserts, breads and spice mixes.

Maple Taffy

Maple taffy is made by boiling maple syrup to produce a rich concentrate. During sugaring season, the hot taffy is poured over snow to cool it and it’s ready to eat in the great outdoors.

Hundreds of Delicious Recipes

Maple is a special addition to any recipe, from starters and snacks to sumptuous desserts. Find one that’s perfect for you, your family and friends.